Search

The Silent Wife - another strong, intense entry in the compelling Will Trent series.

Fans of Karin Slaughter’s Will Trent and Grand County books will love The Silent Wife (Will Trent Book #10). It’s a gritty and frank book addressing violence against women. But at its core, it's a love story and it will hold your interest until the end.


In the present day, an incarcerated man believed to be a serial rapist and murderer has presented GBI Agent Will Trent with possible evidence to warrant his team, including girlfriend Medical Examiner Sara Linton, to look into the case as women continue to be disappearing. Is this a coincidence, a copycat or perhaps the true person responsible has never been caught?


The story shifts back eight years when the first crimes were committed. Sara’s ex (and now deceased) husband Jeffrey Tolliver was the Chief of Police and it appears that he and the Grant County police made errors in their handling of the initial crimes. Back in the present, Will, Sara and a large cast of interesting characters need to review these cases as well as the more recent ones to try and bring justice for the victims and their families.


The Silent Wife does not hold back in its graphic depictions of the gruesome crimes that occurred against a large group of women. These descriptions may be too much for some. But Slaughter’s strong, suspenseful storytelling keeps you going. We also watch the relationship between Will and Sara hit some rough patches. The case brings up old feelings and creates new vulnerabilities for the couple.


You could read this book as a standalone but you may feel a little confused by the histories of these complex characters. Best to go back and read the Grand County series or start at the beginning of the Will Trent series - although it’s not essential.


Many thanks to William Morrow / HarperCollins, Karin Slaughter and GoodReads for an advance copy of this riveting book.


Rated 4 out of 5 stars.

Mystery / Thriller.

Publication Date: August 4, 2020.


Does this book sound like something you'd like to read? If you'd like to make a comment, please scroll down to the end of the page. If you decide to read The Silent Wife, please revisit and post what you thought of it.



Shirley's list.png

    © 2020 by MicheleReader